top of page
Billede af Alex Litvin


Hvis du gerne vil se flere film eller billeder gå til vores: 

Den teknologiske verden
10. D&I – Critical design Emma Marie Østergaard Jensen

10. D&I – Critical design Emma Marie Østergaard Jensen

According to UNICEF an average of 353,000 babies are born each day around the world. They will grow up and be faced with what we left them. Most of us adults have probably heard about the pyramids and the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. Lists of the Wonders of the World have been compiled from antiquity to the present day. The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World were: The Great Pyramid of Giza, the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, the Statue of Zeus at Olympia, the Mausoleum of Mausolus, the Colossus of Rhodes and the Lighthouse of Alexandria as depicted by 16th-century Dutch artist Maarten van Heemskerck. From 2000-2007 a campaign was started to choose seven new Wonders of the World from a selection of 200 existing monuments. The campaign was led by Canadian-Swiss Bernard Weber and organised by the New7Wonders Foundation based in Zurich, Switzerland. There are also New7Wonders of Nature, New7WondersCities etc. What are the Seven Wonders of the World and who defines them? Should they be physical places? Or could they be behaviour, emotions or moods inspired by the seven deadly sins, also known as the capital vices or cardinal sins, which is a grouping and classification of vices of Christian origin? According to the standard list, they are pride, greed, lust, envy, gluttony, wrath and sloth, which are also the opposite of the seven virtues. These sins are often thought to be abuses or excessive versions of one's natural faculties or passions. This project aims to make people think about the Seven Wonders as created by humans. How do we treat each other and the environment? What do we leave for the next generation? This is the question the designer raises, and in her final project she made an installation with seven screens displaying each of the designer’s defined present wonders of the world. According to the designer, the seven new wonders of the world right now are: Religion, Climate Change, Greed, Money, Power, Total Destruction and Human Capacity. The best thing about these wonders is you need not travel around the world to see some of them; just look at your immediate surroundings. The project initiates the discussion: We have created the systems we live in and we have to decide who and what we want to be part of these systems and what we want to pass on to the next generations.
bottom of page